Romanian Armed Forces
in the Second World War
Home + Organization + OoB + Aeronautics + Weapons + Decorations
Military Operations + Generals + Memoirs, Journals + Media + WW1 + Forum
Romana English
Mountain Divisions
1st Mountain Brigade (1941-42)
1st Mountain Division (1942-44)
2nd Mountain Brigade (1941-42)
2nd Mountain Division (1941-45)
3rd Mountain Brigade (1941-42)
3rd Mountain Division (1941-45)
4th Mountain Brigade (1941-42)
4th Mountain Division (1941-44)
18th Mountain Division (1943-44)
103rd Mountain Division (1944)
4th Mountain Brigade (1941-42)
  • 8th Mountain Group
    • 13th Mountain Battalion
    • 14th Mountain Battalion
    • 19th Mountain Battalion
  • 9th Mountain Group
    • 17th Mountain Battalion
    • 18th Mountain Battalion
    • 20th Mountain Battalion
  • 4th Mountain Artillery Group
    • 3rd Mountain Gun Battalion
    • 6th Mountain Gun Battalion
  • 4th Mountain Pioneer Battalion

It was the newest mountain brigade, created on 20 July 1939, and for this reason it was also the poorest equipped of all four, lacking for example the mountain howitzer battalion.

On 15 March 1942, it was reorganized and transformed into the 4th Mountain Division.

Author: Victor Nitu
Dutu A., Dobre F., Loghin L. Armata Romana in al doilea razboi mondial (1941-1945) - Dictionar Enciclopedic, Editura Enciclopedica, 1999
User Comments Add Comment
There are no comments for this article