Romanian Military History Forum - Part of Romanian Army in the Second World War Website

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Recognize this "Volley Gun"?, Posted in WWI forum, but might be older.
NDP
Posted: August 08, 2007 11:57 pm
Quote Post

Soldat

Group: Members
Member No.: 1419

I posted this in the WWI forum, but recent information indicates that this might be the more appropriate place to ask, as it might predate WWI by ~60 years. So I'll just post a link here (rather than duplicate posts) and ask if anyone knows anything about this weapon in the Bucharest Military museum?

http://www.worldwar2.ro/forum/index.php?sh...t=0&#entry60823
PMEmail Poster
D13-th_Mytzu
Posted: August 09, 2007 07:57 am
Quote Post

General de brigada

Member No.: 328

Was it reloadable by a mass "cartridge magazine", or individually (which would seem unwieldy).

If I remember corectly from when I studied it at the MM, the big square things on the sides, are not for protection, but carry the ammo inside, it is like a "disk" filled with bullets which fits in the main barrel - not sure if I made myself understood so I will switch a little to romanian: placile dreptunghiulare de pe laterale contin gloante (dispus in plan orizontal), placa se baga pe post de incarcator in teava principala a armei - perpendicular pe ea - astfel ca gloantele din placa sa intre fiecare pe cate o teava.

user posted image

PS: I do appologize if I am totally wrong, been some time since I saw this and this is what I remember.
PMUsers Website
NDP
Posted: August 09, 2007 12:03 pm
Quote Post

Soldat

My guess was also that the "wings" were for ammunition "cartridges" because they appeared to open from behind.