Romanian Military History Forum - Part of Romanian Army in the Second World War Website

Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Romanian WW1 uniform query.
aardvark
Posted: July 26, 2013 08:21 am
Quote Post

Soldat

Group: Members
Member No.: 3235

Hello,

the Romanian army started off with a grey-green uniform, but after the retreat to western Moldavia by 1917 had brownish -undyed wool uniforms.

Were these undyed uniforms worn by all troops in the reformed 1st and 2nd armies?

Or only supplied to certain units (infantry) or to anyone who needed new uniforms ?

The information i've seen never makes it clear.

Pat.

PMEmail Poster
ionionescu
Posted: July 27, 2013 06:47 am
Quote Post

Plutonier major

Member No.: 2794

I'm not a big expert in uniforms, but as far as I know Romanian Army never wore ”brownish -undyed wool uniforms”, during WW1 two types of uniforms were used, the M1912 green-grey and the M1916 blue-grey, photo evidence shows the use of the both types during 1916 to 1919, the khaki colour uniform was introduced in 1921 but the M1912 and M1916 uniforms continued to be worn until 1927. Regards!
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
aardvark
Posted: September 05, 2013 08:04 am
Quote Post

Soldat

Member No.: 3235

Hello,

thankyou for this information , very usefull.

Pat.
PMEmail Poster
Petre
Posted: January 08, 2019 06:53 am
Quote Post

Locotenent colonel

Member No.: 2434

user posted image

This post has been edited by Petre on January 27, 2019 10:11 am
PMEmail Poster
The A-H Guy
Posted: September 28, 2020 07:50 pm
Quote Post

Soldat

Member No.: 4377